Alcoholic Anonymous Started Here

Alcoholic Anonymous Stan Hywet Hall Gate House

Stan Hywet Hall & Gardens honors the 81st anniversary of the founding of Alcoholic Anonymous at its Gate Lodge during Founders’ Day Weekend, June 10 – 12, 2016. Hours are 10am – 4pm each day; complimentary admission to the Gate Lodge and free parking on the Great Meadow is available for all who come to visit this historic location. Stan Hywet is located at 714 North Portage Path in Akron, Ohio.

Stan Hywet is publishing The Gate Lodge; this new book, the second in a series about the Estate by Stan Hywet curator Julie Frey, will be available for purchase in the merchandise tent along with other Gate Lodge mementos.

On Friday and Saturday, June 10 11, there is “Rock N Recovery” entertainment for guests, courtesy of radio station 91.3 The Summit.  Free transportation is provided between Founders’ Day activities at Stan Hywet and The University of Akron on Saturday, June 11.

Located at the entrance to Stan Hywet Hall & Gardens, the Gate Lodge was built as a residence for the estate’s superintendent. The first (and only) superintendent lived there until his death in 1923, when Fred (eldest son of F.A. Seiberling) moved in with his wife, Henrietta and their three children. It was in the Gate Lodge on Mother’s Day in 1935 that Henrietta brought together for a discussion her friend Dr. Bob Smith, a prominent Akron surgeon and Mr. Bill Wilson, a New York stockbroker. Two admitted alcoholics, the meeting went long into the evening, where the principles that still serve as the cornerstone of Alcoholics Anonymous were identified.

The Gate Lodge at Stan Hywet was formally dedicated as the “Birthplace of Alcoholics Anonymous” in 2000. It was restored and reopened in 2004, with an exhibit that highlights this historic event.

Open April through December, Stan Hywet Hall & Gardens is one of the most important remaining examples of an American Country Estate built during the Industrial Age at the turn of the twentieth century. Stan Hywet was home to F.A. Seiberling, co-founder of The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company, and his family.

Visit www.stanhywet.org to plan your visit.