Admission to the Old Stone House Museum is free.
- Open Sundays from 2:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m; Wednesdays from 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Closed December and January as well as major holidays
- Location: (Map It) 14710 Lake Avenue in Lakewood, Ohio
- Phone: 216-221-7345
- Web: Click here
The Old Stone House Museum: This 1838 “old stone house” was originally the residence of a Scottish immigrant and later served as a post office, shoe repair shop, grocery store, doctors office and barber shop. Now, as a museum, it provides a look at the city’s pioneer past with displays of furniture, household items, clothing, tools, books, toys, dolls and a spinning wheel. The home comes complete with a sickroom with old-fashioned equipment to care for the ill. Also on display are roped beds, cooking fireplace, four-harness loom, furnished parlor, handmade linens and more. The Old Stone House has a cousin linked to it – Nicholson House. This 1835 home is an example of early Western Reserve architecture. Both homes are listed in the National Register of Historic Places.