Admission to the Toledo Museum of Art is free. Some special exhibitions or events may require purchased tickets. Parking is approx. $7.
- Open: Wednesday – Sunday from 11am – 5pm
- Location: (Map It) 2445 Monroe St. at Scottwood Ave. in Toledo, Ohio
- Phone: 419-255-8000
- Web: click here
The Toledo Museum of Art was founded on April 18, 1901. More than a century later, TMA is considered one of the country’s finest museums, both for its collection’s quality and comprehensiveness. Thanks to its founders’ benevolence and the continued support of its members, the TMA remains a privately endowed, non-profit institution and opens its collection to the public—free of charge—six days a week.
The TMA collection transcends temporal, geographical, and cultural boundaries. More than 30,000 works of art represent American and European painting, the history of art in glass, ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, Asian and African art, medieval art, sculpture, decorative arts, graphic arts, and Modern and contemporary art. To accommodate the ever-growing collection and demand for art education, the Museum campus has grown exponentially since its founding. From its humble first exhibition space in two rented rooms, the Museum has grown to cover approximately 32 acres with six buildings.
1901—Toledo Museum of Art is founded. The Museum has 120 members and a collection consisting of a mummified cat and two paintings.
1912—The Museum’s new Monroe Street building opens. The classical Greek style of the Museum architecture employs Ionic columns on the entrance façades.
1919—The Museum creates the School of Design and provides traditional studio art classes and practical design classes to adults and children.
1933—The Peristyle concert hall and the two new wings open with a gala featuring the Philadelphia Orchestra.
1962—The Studio Glass Movement is born at a workshop in a garage on Museum grounds, proving that glass could be worked in a studio setting.
1992—The University of Toledo Center for the Visual Arts opens. This 51,000-square-foot building was designed by renowned architect Frank O. Gehry. The CVA houses the UT Department of Art, studios, an art reference library, and gallery space.
June 2001—The Museum dedicates the Georgia and David K. Welles Sculpture Garden on Monroe Street. Twenty-two sculptures and landscaped green spaces expand the Museum’s experience to the outdoors.
August 2006—The Glass Pavilion is publicly inaugurated. Located on Monroe Street facing the main Museum, the Pavilion houses TMA’s extensive collection of glass art, as well as state-of-the-art glassmaking facilities, meeting spaces, and a coffee bar. All exterior walls and most interior walls are made entirely of curved glass panels.